top of page
  • Writer's pictureRoxy Matthews

New Beginnings

For over a decade I've struggled to make myself through this writing industry, aiming for that elusive book contract. I foolishly thought that was my ticket, the only way to get hundreds, even thousands of readers.

But I soon found out how wrong I was.

Last November, I did finally reach that dream, and signed a 5-book deal with a small traditional publisher. Everything was roses and puppy dogs until we had a falling out on speed and contractual obligations. At that point I had to make a choice. Do I stay where it is comfy cozy, a publisher backing my writing skills and future, or do I go it alone, forging my way in self publishing.

I chose the later, knowing full well I'd have to rebuild myself and my books. I would struggle once more to climb back up to where I was. I would have to learn to format my books on my own, edit the shit out of them, and publish them online. Marketing would now be my job, cover creation, promo materials, everything you can think of was now in my lap.

I will admit, it took me about a month to get past the overwhelming sensation of it all. Could I really be everything I needed to still succeed in my quest to see my passion come to fruition? But once my head cleared and my determination resurfaced, I pulled my head from the sand and held it high. Because if anyone was invested in my dream, it was me.

So now, almost two months later, I am back on the bandwagon, re-releasing my first novel McBride's Gem, as well as it's sequel, Numb. I pushed out a short story collection, From the Depths, of all the pieces I'd worked on over the past fifteen years and am now almost ready to jump into book three of the Pale Bay Series edits, Second Time Sam.

It has definitely been a learning curve and one that has had its fair share of frustration, but I am still here, still moving onward and upward because it is what I know, it is how I have always seen my writing passion. A passion that was ignited so long ago, it's flame unable to be doused. One that will live on even when I am gone from this plain of existence. My words, my drive will be my legacy.





16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page